Cal State San Marcos

Gig Poster

ARTIST STATEMENT:

The genre I chose for my gig poster is a variation of the Art Deco movement. Art deco originated in Paris in the early 20th century. It had a profound influence on the other art movements such as Pop art. Art deco deals with many simple shapes and colors.  The logo for the show Mad Men is one example that influenced me.

I tried to make my poster with the silhouette idea in mind, and added some more shapes to bring it to life.  I wanted to choose a strong picture to make my silhouette.  And who else other than the man in black himself, Johnny Cash, would make such a great subject.  His music may not fit the art deco genre much, but the famous image of him flipping off the camera gave me a strong silhouette for the poster.  Although art deco paintings include gradients in some pieces, I chose not to use gradients in the poster because I wasn’t happy with the results.  I stayed more with simple shapes and colors.

I chose a different font for Johnny Cash’s name took make it stand out. Art deco always reminds me of the the 50’s and 60’s, so that was another reason that I chose a musical artist from that genre.  The gig occurring in this poster is a tribute concert.  So even though the style may be older, it is a concert that will be performed by many different artists from different generations. Johnny Cash was also seen as a man’s man, I chose a manly drink to sponsor the concert, Jack Daniels, and I chose Coca-Cola to bring an even more recognizable face to the poster.

An artist emblematic to the art deco genre that I found was A.M. Cassandre. Here is an example of an art deco poster that he has done.

Leave a Reply

